Skip navigation.
Home
get paid to blog!

Sponsor

How to Spot a Spoof Part I: Monsters

HJKirk's picture

How to Spot a Spoof Part I - The Series begins with the new Monster Spam

How many of you have gotten urgent messages to update your account for any number of things? The most common are e-bay and pay pal. I’ve gotten one for amazon.com. And any number of banks. It makes you wonder about security. Today I received a new one. A spoof for a job on Monster.com.

By using this e-mail I received as an example, we’ll talk about some things to look for so you won’t be taken! First of all, IF you don’t even have an account with Monster.com, you would not receive a real e-mail from them about a job opening. This would also go for any bank - if you don’t bank with Wells Fargo - well, think about it, they don’t need your account number. Easy right.

Next, think about the real/authorized e-mails you get from the company. Monster.com sends you a notice that they have a job possibility for you. They do NOT give the information about the job through an e-mail. WHY? They want you to go to their site and sign up for their services - some free, others that cost you (that’s how they make money). So a real Monster e-mail would not tell you what the job is off the bat.

They say to e-mail them directly. No, no, no - Monster does not do that. They want you to do it through them, once again.

Next, the job is not related to anything you put down. Here’s part of the e-mail.

“SafeMed Inc. is a UK based company selling medical goods...The new recruitment program has been started recently for we are in need of regional financial managers whose work consists of distributing funds received from our customers and suppliers.

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.
IamTammy©'s picture

Get this~ RE: Chase.com

This has to do with Chase Bank~

The worse half was inquiring about something pertaining to Chase.com, the Bank's online website. This was approximately 4 weeks ago~ he muddled around inside the site, and then used their internal email to ask a question, using my personal email address for their awaited reply.

Keep THIS in mind; we don't have an account there.

Two weeks ago, I not only started receiving USPS mail from them begging us to get a credit card, I started receiving bogus emails (phishers), both stating the same recycled crap: 'We've detected unauthorized activity to your account. Please log into your account and verify your account information.'.........the US mail, that's not a big deal really~ he gave our address to them, so that's the norm and to be expected~ but here's the funky part.....

The first couple of emails I received in my account over the course of 2 days, I blew off as just another one of 'them'. I thought it was a little odd since I keep a tight reign on that address, but went on about my bidness.

Then I got 4 more over the course of the rest of the week, and I confirmed with the worse half that we had no account there under either of our names, and then it dawned on me.....

Last week, I first confirmed on Chase.com's 'spoof email' page that they were indeed really sucky ripoffs, and then proceeded to forward each and every one of them TO Chase.com, with a little note attached that said:

"It's come to my attention that not only have I, out of the blue, started receiving these spoof emails you warn your potential customers about, but neither one of us have ever dealt with your establishment before the previous legitimate correspondences two weeks ago. These little phishies didn't start arriving into my personal email account until 'after' we visited your online website.

Therefore, it not only makes me wonder about your online security features, but I suggest that you determine the origin of these interesting tidbtis, because if I keep receiving them, I may have to look into this matter a little further concerning your business practices and my right to privacy... and, it won't be pretty."

I've yet to hear a response........

And I've yet to receive another bogus email.

Think about that one~

HJKirk's picture

going on line

You bring up a very interesting concept. People think I am paranoid when I talk about the timing of such things as reality based. How about this one.

I went online to see if Geiko could save me money on car insurance. After getting half way through the process, the system froze and I had to shut down. I decided that was a sign from God, and didn't boot back up and retry. The next morning that car - with my address at least getting into their system - was gone! Yep stolen. That one just a coincidence I suppose, but at least the theives got a car with major problems!!

Glad you were able to get the Chase phishing to stop.

© H. Kirk 2006
author, fine art photographer and digital artist, graphic designer
Books:
contributor to Chicken Soup for the Latino Soul,
author of We...a spirit seeking harmony for a world that's out of sync (poetry)
www.PhotoGraphicArtistry.CityMax.com

To also join Writing Up as a blogger click on WritingUp

IamTammy©'s picture

HJ~

That sucks. Hey, I totally agree with you.

I cannot even TELL you how many times things like that have happened to me.....that's why, the people within my inner circle that know me? Well, they realized I'm like those old EF Hutton commercials from years back.....When IamTammy talks, people listen. It's no ego, trust me.......it's called experience, and after a while of things like that going on, it's not always a 'coincidence', ya know what I mean? I thoroughly understand what you're posting. I've become a firm believer in that crappy saying 'Everything for a reason'.

After a while, it's not about being paranoid when things 'happen'. It's about getting pissed WHEN they happen~ heh~ and following your gut.

Seeya~

Anonymous's picture

safemed inc/monster.com

i am not sure how to get rid of these scammers! i guess that is their job to get money from people around the globe. i did posted my resume at monster.com and received email from someone representing safemed inc from uk, want me to open an account at wells fargo so their clients can deposit money in that account and i received a commission from collecting those accounts then i figure it out it is a scam when i did my investigation over the internet, around 1:30 am i called the 24 hour hot line of wells fargo to closed my account or freeze the account so that the scammers cannot accesss my account.

well done- second time around with a scammers- anything from nigeria and uk or europe, beware!

Anonymous's picture

Good for you

I'm so glad you figured out it was a scam, and acted immediately to close the account. You saved yourself a lot of problems, and someone also will see what you have written and learn from you as well.

I e-mailed Safemed, so they would also be aware.

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.